Published On: Mon, May 16th, 2011

CHS Athletes honored at Banquet

Davis, Bradley named Athletes of the Year




                “You’re all going to play for a pro team, every one of you, and it’s called life,” said Randall McGinnis, president and CEO of Echota Technology Corporation and the guest speaker at the annual Cherokee High School Athletic Banquet held Friday, May 13 at Harrah’s Cherokee Casino Hotel.

Greg Bradley (left) won the James "Hogeye" Taylor Memorial Male Athlete of the Year award and Rayna Davis won the Bertha Saunooke Memorial Female Athlete of the Year award at the annual CHS Athletic Banquet held Friday, May 13. (SCOTT MCKIE B.P./One Feather photos)

                “Sports teaches you not to give up,” said McGinnis.  “I got to where I am today from playing sports.”

                Numerous awards were given out on Friday including seniors Rayna Davis and Greg Bradley being named athletes of the year with Davis winning the Bertha Saunooke Memorial Female Athlete of the Year award and Bradley taking home the James “Hogeye” Taylor Memorial Male Athlete of the Year award. 

                Davis was a multi-sport standout having played volleyball and basketball for four years, track for two years, and softball and soccer for one year each.  This past season, she was named to the 1A All-State Basketball team as well as being selected to the Blue/White All-Star Game in Asheville. 

Buster Arch (right) receives the Noah Powell Memorial Leadership Award from Tuff Jackson.

                Bradley was also a multi-sport standout and participated in basketball and track for four years and football for two years.  This past season, he was named to the Honorable Mention All-Conference team in basketball.

                Kathi Littlejohn, CHS Booster Club, commented on Friday, “What a year this has been.  We’ve had our ups and downs.”  She thanked everyone who worked with the Booster Club this past year and commended the work of Edith Crowe and Buttons Long specifically.  “I won’t say they worked tirelessly.  They did get tired, but they kept going.  We couldn’t have done it without them.” 

CHS Athletic Director Ian Roper reads a plaquard on a photo honoring Will Bird (center) for winning the 2011 1A State Wrestling Championship in the 189lb. division as teammate Tavi Rivera looks on.

                Principal Chief Michell Hicks told the athletes, “We have opportunity in front of us that not many people have.  We have resources and we’ve been blessed by these resources.” 

                “Being average is not good enough anymore.  The day is here to where we have to reach for above average.” 

                Chief Hicks stressed the need for a good education and related that there are currently 460 EBCI tribal members pursuing higher education.  “You cannot achieve what you want in athletics without achieving in academics.” 

Jesse Blanton won the Chief John A. Crowe Memorial Most Dedicated Male Athlete Award and Kayla Smith won the Ray Kinsland Honorarium Most Dedicate Female Athlete Award.

                Several other major awards were given out during the banquet including the Peaches Squirrell Honorarium Miss Brave award which went to Paige Jackson and the Noland Crowe Honorarium Mr. Brave award which went to John Roper. 

                Wrestling standout Will Bird also received special recognition in the form of a ring, a photo plaque and an embroidered jacket for winning the 1A state championship in the 189lb division.    

Awards List

JV Volleyball

Offensive MVP – Ashley Bolt

Defensive MVP – Taylor Wilnoty

Coach’s Award – Taran Swimmer

Varsity Volleyball

Offensive MVP – Rayna Davis

Defensive MVP – Celine Lambert

Coach’s Award – Amy Lincoln

Best Sportsmanship

Male – Kelsey Jackson

Female – Troy Arch

Varsity Cheerleading

MVP – Madison Crowe

Coach’s Award – Chelsey Martinez

Ladies’ Golf

MVP – Hannah Youngdeer

Coach’s Award – Ellen Bradley

Charlie Stamper Memorial Academic Athlete

Female – Rayna Davis

Male – John Roper

Varsity Soccer

Offensive MVP – Colby Yanez

Defensive MVP – Raven Frankiewicz

Coach’s Award – Levi Swearengin

JV Football

Offensive MVP – Silas Littlejohn

Defensive MVP – Taylor Davis

Coach’s Award – Austin Padilla

Barbara Sequoyah Memorial Most Determined Female

Avery Mintz

Raymond Owle Memorial Most Determined Male

Dorian Walkingstick

Varsity Football

Offensive MVP – Dorian Walkingstick

Defensive MVP – Forrest Stamper

Coach’s Award – Jesse Blanton

Varsity Cross Country – Boys  

MVP – Gerald Mahan

Coach’s Award – E.J. Carroll

Varsity Cross Country – Girls

MVP – Jordyn Thompson

Coach’s Award – Shayna Ledford

Vernon Hornbuckle Memorial Christian Athlete

Female – Hannah Youngdeer

Male – Forrest Stamper

JV Girls Basketball

Offensive MVP – Angel Squirrel

Defensive MVP – Taran Swimmer

Coach’s Award – Ellie Bradley

JV Boys Basketball

Offensive MVP – Dylan Saunooke

Defensive MVP – Darius Thompson

Coach’s Award – Silas Reed-Littlejohn

Noah Powell Memorial Leadership Award

Female – Celine Lambert

Male – Buster Arch

Varsity Girls Basketball

Offensive MVP – Rayna Davis

Defensive MVP – Paige Jackson

Coach’s Award – Celine Lambert

Varsity Boys Basketball

Offensive MVP – Greg Bradley

Defensive MVP – Tsaladi Sequoyah

Coach’s Award – Buster Arch

Varsity Wrestling

Most Outstanding Wrestler – Will Bird and Tavi Rivera

Coach’s Award – John Roper

Mens’ Golf

MVP – Ray Smith

Coach’s Award – Jeremy Wolfe

JV Softball

Offensive MVP – Ashley Smith

Defensive MVP – Kristen Kirkland

Coach’s Award – Amy Lincoln

JV Boys Baseball

Offensive MVP – Isaiah Smith

Defensive MVP – Justin Buchanan

Coach’s Award – Derrick Ledford

Ray Kinsland Honorarium Most Dedicated Female

Kayla Smith

Chief John A. Crowe Memorial Most Dedicate Male

Jesse Blanton

Varsity Softball

Offensive MVP – Hannah Youngdeer

Defensive MVP – Jessica McCoy

Coach’s Award – Brianna Smith

Varsity Baseball

Offensive MVP – John Roper

Defensive MVP – Jesse Blanton

Overall MVP – Troy Arch

Coach’s Award – Buddy Arch

Girls Soccer

Offensive MVP – Avery Mintz

Defensive MVP – Taran Swimmer

Coach’s Award – Anna Cline

Girls Track

MVP Field – Kelsey Jackson

MVP Track – Paige Jackson

Coach’s Award – Abigail Long

Boys Track

MVP Field – Dylan Saunooke

MVP Track – Greg Bradley

Coach’s Award – Greg Tisho

For more photos of this event, visit: